Extra Fantômes
© Louis David Najar

Extra Fantômes

The real, the fake, the uncertain

The exponential development of technology is paradoxically a time there is a surge in attention and demand for magical, unexplained and mythological phenomena.

La Gaîté lyrique - first a theatre, then a reference for operetta, a theme park, an abandoned building hosting secret rave parties - is now a digital culture space filled with stories and memories. 

Haunted mirrors, invisible surveillance, living houses, occult cyborgs, spectral machines, intangible waves and virtual existence: la Gaîté lyrique’s new exhibition presents a selection of contemporary artworks about a variety of ghostly figures: the real, the fake and the uncertain.

Brush, touch, interact... And let yourself be surprised! 


  
               Metamorphy by Scenoscome                                           Spectres by Malte Martin

Conceived as an entirely immersive journey, Extra Fantômes ’ scenography offers a playful, strange and poetic exploration.

Built in 4 sections - the Darkness, the Red Room, the Control Room and the Bunker  - the visitor dives in a circuit of secret passages, phantasmagorical universes, uncertain visions.

The Darkness stages the haunted house’s codes : gloom, suspense, phantoms and uncertain visions.
The Red Room is devoted to the occult and the phantasmagorical and takes a strange, dreamlike air.
The Control Room directly refers to the real world through scientific codes and laboratories where one discovers the hidden dimensions of our co-existence with the technological world. We discover invisible fields, we tame robotic surveillance.
• The last part, the Bunker, introduces the visitor to various strategies explored by artists in order to disappear at last and to become ghosts in the eyes of the machines.

With :

Timo Arnall, Charlotte Charbonnel, Gregory Chatonsky, Paolo Cirio, Daily tous les jours, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, DeFrame, David Ebner, Adam Harvey, Jørn Knutsen, Golan Levin, Malte MartinEinar Sneve Martinussen, Kyle McDonald, Onformative, Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt, Semiconductor, Antoine Schmitt, Mathieu Schmitt, Bram Snijders, Karolina Sobecka, Chris Sugrue, Nils Völker et Tobias Zimmer

Curating & scenography : Daily tous les jours
Artistic consultant : Anne-Sophie Bérard
Exhibition graphic design : Studio Pilote

• The exhibition will be adapted and presented at the Centre Phi – Montreal in early 2017.

  • Sunday 17 July 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 16 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 15 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 14 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 13 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 12 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 10 July 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 9 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 8 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 7 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 6 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 5 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 3 July 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 2 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 1 July 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 30 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 29 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 28 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 26 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 25 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 24 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 23 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 22 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 21 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 19 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 18 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 17 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 16 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 15 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 14 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 12 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Sunday 12 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 11 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Friday 10 June 2016 at 13h00
  • Thursday 9 June 2016 at 13h00
  • Wednesday 8 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 7 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 5 June 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 4 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 3 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 2 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 1 June 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 31 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 29 May 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 28 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 27 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 26 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 25 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 24 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 22 May 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 21 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 20 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 19 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 18 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 17 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 15 May 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 14 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 13 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 12 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 11 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 10 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 8 May 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 7 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 6 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 5 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 4 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 3 May 2016 at 14h00
  • Saturday 30 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 29 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 28 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 27 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 26 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 24 April 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 23 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 22 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 21 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 20 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 19 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 17 April 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 16 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 15 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 14 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 13 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 12 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Sunday 10 April 2016 at 12h00
  • Saturday 9 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Friday 8 April 2016 at 14h00
  • Thursday 7 April 2016 at 14h00